Blog Fodder

Today can simply be called only, blog fodder.

As I said yesterday, I called one of those “sales” job ads.

This one happened to be for, wait for it, VACUUM CLEANERS! Yes, that’s right, the old door to door vacuum cleaner salesman. I remember when I was a kid a guy came by and sold my mom a “Rainbow” vacuum. She still has it to this day, although it’s lifetime warranty died a few lifetimes ago. It’s broken pieces flap in it’s own wind, but it still runs I guess.

“So what’s wrong with that?” you may ask. Besides the fact it cost $2000? Besides the fact that after a few months the thing smells funny? I’ll tell you what’s wrong with it, it’s a scam. It’s high pressure, overpriced, and totally bogus.

Claims of new technology for example, these types of vacuums have been around since the 1950’s or even earlier. They only filter the air until the water gets dirty, which is pretty darn fast. And they breed mold. Something that is not mentioned in the sales brochure.

But enough about the consumer, what about the sales person? Well, for HYLA anyway, they have to demo 12 units, get 72 referrals and register 50 people in a week to get paid. Now if they sell one, they get a $200-$400 commission. If they sell two a week they should get paid. If not they need 122 leads to get base pay, plus the 12 demos have to be “qualified”, which means the people buy one. So either way you go, you’re SOL. You don’t get paid for training, or travel. The sign on bonus after 90 days you ask? A free vacuum. Oh sure the ad says $2000, which is what you can sell your free vacuum for, if you wish, and you can find someone with $2000.

And despite the claims in the sales pitch/training session that it’s rated #1, I was unable to find any mention of the HYLA on consumer reports. And the fact that it’s a “one of a kind”, was disproved immediately since I had already seen a Rainbow.

FYI: 50 registrations, is fooling people into taking a “survey” or entering a “contest” to win a prize. Which will, without their consent, place them on a call list. At which time they will be told, they were a runner up, and all they have to do to collect their prize is view a short demo. Kinda like condos…

Oh and by the way, for every person you “recruit” , you get $200 for every unit they sell. Is it any wonder these sales jobs are more of a sale pitch?

Now, mind you, I’ve done things I’m not proud of, I sold door to door once. But at the time I didn’t know any better, I couldn’t in good faith, show up at someone’s door and lie and con them out of money they earned. Playing on fears about their children and spouting unrelated facts about dust mites.

Funny thing is, I have an air purifier in my home, I got it at Lowe’s, I only paid $250 for it, it only has to be cleaned once a year and it works. Best part is, unlike the HYLA salesman’s suggestion about buying a cheap timer to run it 30 minutes a day, mine has one built-in.

One Response to Blog Fodder

  1. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

