WOTC (Work Opportunity Tax Credit)

I picked the Internet brain today, trying to find out about something I’ve seen on job applications. There are questions which ask if you or anyone in your family is or has been on Food Stamps/SSI in the last 6 months.

I’d heard of the WOTC (Work Opportunity Tax Credit) before but hadn’t really looked at it in detail. I still haven’t determined if it’s legal to be asked these questions before you’re hired for the job but at least I know why they’re being asked.

I do feel the need to point out that it’s a program of the DWD, an arm of the DED in my state, Missouri. Which is why when I asked questions at the local Career Center, also run by the DWD, I was surprised they didn’t seem to know anything about it, even at a supervisory level.

But I gave up expecting people to be professional or know their field a long time ago.

2 Responses to WOTC (Work Opportunity Tax Credit)

  1. Brian Kelly says:

    I have been in the HR and Payroll industry for over 20 years and we actually process the Tax Credits as a service just for the reason you stated above. As an employer your do not want to base your hiring deiscion based on what the applicant filled out on these forms. Annomity is important to protecting your company from perspective discrminiation. The companies we provide the service too, have the applicants fill out the forms and then they send them all into us and then we perform the screening and processing to provide a 3rd party element to acquiring the tax credit.

  2. raymccullie says:

    So by having a 3rd party do their HR work and screen applicants, they can ask before hiring without being liable for discrimination?

    I guess I was thinking they should wait until after they’ve hired people before giving you those forms. Of course anyone who deals with the Government knows you need to get the ball rolling as quickly as possible. But still…

Leave a Reply

